Buying property

We are currently in the process of buying some property where we hope to settle. It has been a really long and tedious time of negotiation. Last week we finally got it all signed and celebrated that night with a little bubbly.

We have now just been notified that the original deeds of the property are “missing” – so now we have no idea how long it will be before we can move to our little piece of heaven. In the meantime we visit the property daily to sit and dream and to plan.

The place needs a lot of love and attention but here it is

 

 

It was the beginning of summer when I took these photos and I marvel at how different it looks now – everything is a lot greener after the rains.

The property is 21 hectares with one boundary on the Blyde river.  It is not fenced because it forms part of a larger nature reserve so in reality we have access to 350ha of nature reserve although we will own only 21 ha.

The homestead itself consists of 4 stone cottages, 3 of which have a bedroom and bathroom each.  The 4th cottage has a lounge/diningroom and kitchen area.  The kitchen is really very small because here we do most of our cooking outdoors.  It’s just too hot to cook inside.

The nature reserve is not a big 5 reserve – meaning that there are no lion, rhino, buffalo, elephant and supposedly no leopard, although leopard are the only one of the big five that are still found outside game reserves and therefore could pass through our property at any time.  The game found on our reserve consists mainly of impala, wildebeest (gnu), duiker, zebra, giraffe, civet, serval, jackal, porcupine and many other smaller creatures.

I just can’t wait to settle in.

6 thoughts on “Buying property

  1. Congrats it looks wonderful – sooooooooooooooo exciting. Don’t worry re the title deeds it will just delay the process a wee bit. U will just have to savour the anticipation a lil longer!!

    Like

  2. I happened on your story and your marvelous site via your comments to Tricia’s postings. You know her as Tricia through the looking glass. Tricia is a marvelous writer and an even more magnificent being. She is a great friend and colleague. Our paths crossed a few years ago when she joined our department. I love following her blog.

    As I read part of your adventure, amidst teary eyes, envy crossed my heart. As they say, once you live in Africa, Africa never leaves you. I too once lived in there many years ago, albeit in a different country that was then known as Zaire (now Republic du Congo). The pictures of your new property, your new life, pictures of the sunset, dirt roads, the ants, and just everything else brought back many, many happy and nostalgic memories. And yes, the tears flowed again. So many times have I wished I had the courage and ability to pack up my life here and just get back. Although from what I understand, what we left behind in Zaire is no more.

    Congratulate yourself on what you have accomplished and what you have obtained. May the marvelous African bush provide you with many warm and dreamy nights. May your life in paradise be exciting and happy. Warmest wishes on your new life. Congratulations and bonne chance! Keep an eye out for those pesky mosquitoes and the silent fevery gift they can bring. Oh, and if you line-dry your washed clothes, just make sure you iron them with a really hot iron. Again, best wishes. Addy

    Like

    • Dear Addy – thank you so much for visiting my blog. I think that only once you have lived in Africa can one really understand how much it gets into your blood. Sadly, Zaire is not what it used to be but I have a good friend that returns there quite often who still loves the country. She is from Lubumbashi. I grew up here in South Africa – further south than where we are now, and we always line dried our clothes. We do iron what needs ironing, but leave other items that do not. What is your reasoning for hot ironing the clothes. I am guessing that it may be for some kind of bug? Regards
      J

      Like

  3. Dear J – To answer your question, I was a victim of a local species bot flies. An excerpt from the Merck Web site I am forwarding you should give you an idea what happened when our staff did not iron one of my shirts well. (visit: http://www.merck.com/mmhe/sec18/ch210/ch210e.html

    “Furuncular myiasis: Many of the common sources are known as bot flies. The most well-known species of flies that cause furuncular myiasis come from South and Central America and sub-Saharan and tropical Africa. Many of the flies do not lay eggs on humans. Instead, the flies lay their eggs on other insects (such as mosquitoes) or on objects (such as drying laundry) that may come into contact with people’s skin. Eggs hatch into larvae, which burrow into the skin and develop into mature larvae.”

    I had 21 of those suckers hatch under my skin on the left side of my chest down to my belly button and my upper left arm. The typical symptoms described on the web page are accurate to a T, except my mother being a physician (thank goodness) extracted the offending residents when they were just little bigger than the size of a grain of rice. I was twelve at the time and boy was I totally mortified. At first, when the symptoms started showing, we had no idea what was happening. The second time I was wiser and I took care of it on my own. Yes, I got it again on a much smaller scale on my foot, although not from laundry. I just loved to walk around barefoot as all kids do.

    In spite of the calamity, I miss those days. Yes, they were much easier and slower, more peaceful that today’s rat race. My parents whole heartedly agree on this point as well.

    In closing, thanks for letting me reminisc with one who can truly relate. Best wishes from across the globe, all the way from the state of Florida.

    A~

    Like

    • Thanks Addy for all that information. It is a very long time since I studied microbiology etc. having lived in South Africa my whole live albeit further south (except for 3 years in Europe), I have never come across this problem and 99% of South Africans line dry their clothes. Many of these people do not have electricity or irons either! From doing a bit of reading after I received your message, I have found that it does occur here but there have only been a few rare cases. It is probably because the disease is more tropical and we only just get up to the sub tropics here in SA. The reason I panicked is because I am VERY lazy about ironing and really only iron when I have to. Food for though – thank you!

      Like

Comments are closed.