Doing without

When deciding to make such a radical life change, I knew that there were going to be things that I would have to give up – one important one being cigarettes.  However,  there were a few surprises that I had not considered.  Here is a list of things I have done without now for 5-6 months.

  • Bathing
  • Cigarettes
  • Television
  • Blow drying my hair
  • Electric blanket
  • 24 hour internet access
  • company paid cellular telephone
  • my own car
  • company paid fuel
  • washing machine
  • dishwasher
  • shops nearby

It has been quite liberating in some ways. Others making me more aware of my budget and working way more carefully with our money.  I also have had to deal a little with my pride and ego – having to rely on someone for transport as well as working as an assistant (instead of the boss) – has taken some adapting  (and before you get totally grossed out – we have always had access to a shower.)

