Scattered thoughts

When working in Europe, I used to get a little ticked off when 3rd world countries were called under-developed, backward, unsophisticated and disadvantaged.  True – things are not always easier in a third world country and disease and poverty are rampant – I get that, but seeing little children grow up in homes where the whole family is involved in their upbringing, they smile and laugh all day, running around without shoes on – carefree and happy (and, yes, without much money). I just ponder who is the poorer in the end – somehow I would rather be that child than one that is sent away to school, far from family – being cooped up in sterile buildings while being force-fed politically correct history lessons.  I am sure many of you will disagree with me.  My argument here is simplistic, however,  it’s good to think about what really makes us richer happier people.

source

Yesterday, one of the workers on a nearby farm went into labour.  Our office was called for help and a couple of folk went out in a vehicle to take the lady to hospital.  The farm is 5 minutes away.  By the time they got there, the lady had given birth to her baby, cut off the umbilical cord with a piece of glass, delivered the placenta and put it in a shopping bag, and wrapped the baby in some cloths.  The vehicle could not get near to the trees she delivered under – not a problem to her – she picked up all her things (with some help) and climbed up a small hill to the vehicle where she hopped inside with her baby to get to the clinic.  All in a days work.

I’m not saying this is the right way or the wrong way to do things – it is just the way it is, it is not questioned – these ladies are quite happy to give birth like this and are shocked and laugh at those of us who have to take time off work and go to hospital to have children.  I think they think we are ninnies.  Just think how much is spent in the western world on hospitals and gynaecologists. Again – very simplistic – I know I would be dead and I wouldn’t have my children if I didn’t go to hospital to have my babies.

Ah well – just my scattered thoughts on what is really right and what is really wrong and how much we are conditioned by society to believe nonsense.

I guess what I am trying to get at is this;  Just because someone is different, does not mean they are wrong, or worse off than you are – they might just measure life in other ways.

Honestly, I personally believe that people cooped up in offices, working for 14 hours a day in smelly polluted cities are way more disadvantaged than many Africans.

One thought on “Scattered thoughts

Comments are closed.