Water

When you turn on a water tap and you see water run into your sink, what do you think about?  I would guess, for most of you, nine times out of ten, you are thinking about something else entirely – what to prepare for breakfast maybe, or confirming in your mind when your early morning meeting starts? Well that’s what I used to think of.  Not anymore.

I know we are told continuously around the world to conserve water and that the next world war will be over water not oil – but somehow that always seemed a little distant to me, even living on one of the dryest continents. I still didn’t think about my water very much.

Now, the first thing that comes into my head when I turn the tap on – even in my very groggy state in the morning – is if the tank has water in it, then after the first squirt I wonder if there is enough for my shower or if I will be left with shampoo in my hair.

Our water tank holds enough water for our family for two days if we don’t use much on the garden.  When W is away, we last three days during the week and only one to two days over the weekend when I do the washing and cleaning.  So, every second day we have to remember to fill the tank. I am still not in the habit, so it does happen that we run dry.  W is very good with it though so I normally don’t have to worry when he is at home. 

We will have to replace the tank once the property transfer goes through.  The scaffolding that it currently stands on is rather rickety and we would like to replace it with a store room and laundry with stone pillars on the roof holding up the new shiny tank (or most likely a recycled second-hand – new-to-me one) like one of these

You may be wondering why I am making such an issue about filling the tank – well to do so I  have to turn on three more taps, one at the bottom of our tank scaffolding and the other two are one kilometer away next to the road at the router.

On foot, the whole process takes about half and hour to turn it on then after it is full, another half and hour to turn it off.  It is much quicker to go by car but then you have to hop in and out of the car a few times to open gates etc. – quite a process.

I am glad that, because of our situation, that each time I turn on the tap I am more conscious of the water that comes out.  It keeps me in the moment, more grounded and real and I appreciate every drop of water I use.

One thought on “Water

  1. It just amazes me what you have to do just for basic necessities, and, yes, it really does point out to me just how much I take for granted. Thank you…

    I also love the pic you left us with on the next post. 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.