Wish me luck

I am about to call my dad and tell him what has happened in my life.  I held off telling him because he has CCF and I am worried about his heart.  My family all say that I have to tell him.  I hate disappointing him.  Again.

He is old school and still believes that each of his girls should be married off to rich men.  When one of us “catch” someone who looks like a good deal in his eyes he says “well done” – he says it much louder and with more feeling than when each of us qualified and landed really good jobs – we are all successful girls in our own right but for Dad – you still need to marry well 🙂

Now I have to tell him that I am again single.  I hope he isn’t too mad – if I tell him what caused the split he will get very cross – still not sure if I will tell him that.  I think, because I was the sole breadwinner in my relationship it may not be too much of a let down for him – here’s hoping……………………

8 thoughts on “Wish me luck

  1. Good luck…I know it won’t be an easy conversation, but it’s gotta be easier than pretending your situation is something it isn’t.

    Like

  2. I wish I could print this blog entry off and show it to him – that he could see how much you Love him and how much his opinion matters to you. xxx

    Like

  3. Good luck Jackie – I know it wont be easy for you but something best done before he hears it from someone else – will be thinking of you – and agree with Tracey – hope he realises how much he means to you and his opinion matters.

    Like

  4. Good luck – thinking of you, and understand that feeling of not really being independent adults when it comes to our fathers – but as the others say it has to be done, and for different reasons and senarios in our lives will happen again and again, our fathers are unlikely to change at this stage – so take a deep breath and do it and luckily although they may rant and rave they will still love us!

    Like

  5. I dont think you are a disappointment at all,wow you are so courageous !!
    Sending you positive vibes across the seas.
    🙂

    Like

  6. I wish you luck, and the knowledge that no matter what he thinks that is for him to work through, and your identification with HIS feelings are your choice.

    Like

Comments are closed.