Kudos

 On Friday my blog post on “why recycling matters” was featured on Freshly Pressed at WordPress.  WordPress is the host of my blog and they select what they deem to be the best current blog posts (from 287538 posts) and feature them on their home page http://wordpress.com/.  I was thrilled to be featured and my blog readership soared over the weekend.  Prior to the post I had recently just reached 2000 hits and by today I have 4890 hits and it’s still climbing.

Many people commented on the post from all over the world – thank you.  A lot of them said “Kudos on your post”  Now, I have seen the word used quite often on the net, but have not often heard people actually say it.  I understand what it means but thought it was a slang word.  Well after looking it up – it is a slang word – but it was slang in the early 1800’s!  Have any other South Africans heard it used much here?

ku·dos

Pronunciation: \ˈkü-ˌdäs, ˈkyü-, -ˌdōs\
Function: noun
Etymology: Greek kydos
Date: 1831

1 : fame and renown resulting from an act or achievement : prestige
2 : praise given for achievement

The only Kudo(u)s we talk about here in Hoedspruit are these

This is a male kudu tragelaphus strepsiceros. Like many other antelope, male kudu can be found in bachelor groups, but they are more likely to be solitary. When males do have a face-off, they will lock their horns in a competition to determine the stronger puller; kudus’ necks enlarge during the mating season for this reason. Sometimes two competing males are unable to unlock their horns and, if unable to disengage, will die of starvation or dehydration. Males are seen with females only in the mating season, when they join in groups of 5-15 kudus, including offspring. Calves grow very quickly and at six months are fairly independent of their mothers. When threatened, the kudu will often run away rather than fight. Wounded bulls have been known to charge the attacker, hitting the attacker with their sturdy horn base rather than stabbing it. Wounded females can keep running for many miles without stopping to rest for more than a minute. They are great kickers and are capable of breaking a wild dog or jackal’s neck or back. They are good jumpers and can clear a 5-foot fence from a standing start. For this reason, no one ever really owns kudu – they come and go as they please leaping over fences in their way.

On our property we only have one female kudu at present.  She has an identity crisis and lives with a herd of impala females.  They seem to accept her as one of their own.  At this time of the year when the mating season begins I feel really sorry for her being all alone without a mate although she seems happy enough.  I wonder if one of the raging male impalas have ever tried their luck 🙂

I hope a lone male finds her and stays for a while. It would be great to have a few of these around

 Thank you all for visiting my blog over the weekend. I hope you have a great week!

5 thoughts on “Kudos

  1. Haha. I was always the other way round. I had heard “Kudos” used a couple of times, well by the same person, but never seen it written. I didn’t know it was an actual word, I thought it was just something this one person made up instead of saying Congrats, and I could never look it up because I had no clue how it was spelt! And whats worse, the etymology is Greek; I am Greek and speak Greek! I don’t know how you would pronounce that in Greek, and I’ve never seen it in writing, but I shall ask my teacher in class tomorrow.

    I love this post too. I love any sort of animals wild or domestic, except our neighbour’s evil cat. The thing has red eyes, is pure white (one of those persian long haired or something… *shivers*) and just sits there glaring at you. We own two dogs, and it comes right up to our property and sits there, staring right at them when they are doing whatever they are doing. I can walk right up to the cat and it doesn’t move unless I hiss at it. THe thing gives me the creeps. And normally I love cats!

    You are very lucky to have these creatures living so near you. I want to be a biologist (preferably a marine biologist, but any sort of job where I can observe animals is fine by me!) and would love to be able to see these magnificent creatures up close! Are they rare, do you think? I hope they aren’t. If I had one wish it would be to restore balance to nature.

    Keep up the excellent posts!

    Like

    • Thanks Mirellarose 🙂 They are not so rare – but much less common than the impalas. You will have to come visit sometime and spend time in the reserve

      Like

  2. That would be heaven for me, believe me! My french tutor works with a orphanage in Benin a lot. Some of her students often go to help her, and we do a lot of fundraising with her at our school. Next summer I might go. I’m hopping to teach some music and dance there, and possibly even art too.

    Can you try to get some more pictures of them? Id love to see any other creatures or critters you have around your property! I regret that so far the most wild place I have lived was in Canada. There is nothing like falling asleep to the cry of the Loons. You can hear them for miles!!!

    (also I love the way you manage to link things… like going from Kudos to kudu and such. Have been reading some older posts, and I love them!)

    Like

  3. Well, absolutely kudos! And love your kudu, too. If that doesn’t sound like bad poetry…;-}

    Keep up the great work…and the great blogging 😉

    Like

  4. Congratulations Slow! That’s amazing!!!

    And it’s interesting to learn that one person’s kudos is another’s kudu…LOL

    I’m glad that thousands more folks are aware that you are there in S.A. doing your part–snakes, baboons, giraffes and all. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.