Lessons in letting go

At art group last night I learned an interesting lesson.  It was our last meeting till mid to end September because Anne is going travelling for a bit.

Our task last night was, using watercolour and ink, to run splodges of colour over a page and then see what develops when it dries.  From the result you then “see” your picture in the colours and then fill in with some darker colours and ink. So now I know I have control issues but really – it was very funny seeing how I tried to control the colour splodges as I already had an idea in my head – not good and the result is infantile.

I tried again and consciously tried to not control the picture – it was really not so hard after all and quite liberating to just let it all go.

The result was much better and once I spotted a leaning girl in the splodges and could develop it from there.  The photo was taken a little skew.

So what lessons are learned?  I need to keep going over the following facts and reminding myself.
Letting go of the uncontrollables and unchangeables in life:

  • Admitting -that you are not responsible to effect a change or correct a problem which is beyond your competency, power, authority or responsibility.
  • Releasing over-responsibility-giving permission to yourself to be free from a overresponsible sense of obligation, duty or requirement to make everything “perfect” in your life and the life of others.
  • No perfectionism-allowing yourself to get rid of the perfectionistic need to control every aspect of your life so that nothing goes “wrong” in it.
  • Allowing yourself to be able to say “no” or “I can’t” when faced with insurmountable problems out of your reach.
  • Surrender-extensive problem brainstorming and testing alternatives with the final conclusion that you can do nothing to change the circumstances of the issue and that it would be saner and more realistic to free your energy up by surrendering and letting go of the issue.

Other pictures produced by the group are below – take a look and see if you can see who “controlled’ their pictures and who just let go.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hmmm – looks like I may not be the only one with control issues.  Right Mr A?

6 thoughts on “Lessons in letting go

  1. There are some gorgeous works there. I do love your second result–the emotions are so visible in the colors and the movement and flow of the paint.

    Like

  2. Really interesting exercise…and the results speak for themselves! It’s amazing how much talent you have in your class! When I look at your art, it gives me the itch. Something I’ll have to keep in mind….mmmmmmmmm.

    Like

  3. My favourite is yours-especially because you got the ‘letting go’ right , available for lessons..

    Like

Comments are closed.