Citrus season – The beginning or the end?

It was with great joy that we greeted the news that we should finish packing our citrus at the end of this week.  It’s been a long hard season having packed in excess of 12 million kilograms of citrus fruit since April.  We have worked long hours with quite a bit of physical exertion – our bodies and minds are tired and the coming break will be welcome.

Last night when driving home I was assailed by the most beautiful scent when driving past the orchards.  Puzzled, I looked around – and this is what I saw.

Noooooooooooooooooooo!!!!  Please no!  I just can’t anymore!  Before the last fruit are plucked from the trees, they are starting to blossom!  Yes, a most heavenly scent – but please – NO MORE ORANGES!  In a panic I asked around – are we expecting another crop?  The good news, I found, is that the orange fruit takes 10-12 months to form from blossom to mature fruit.  Whew!

Now I can look forward to working half days till the mangoes start coming in.

