Animal, Vegetable, Miracle – a wonderful gift from my sister.

Today I collected a neatly wrapped parcel from the post office sent to me by my sister in Johannesburg. I just love getting parcels – I get the same feeling of excitement as I used to as a child at Christmas time. Inside was a book called Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver.  I have heard about this book quite often on other blogs about slow living and I am looking forward to reading it.

Part memoir, part journalistic investigation, this book (released May 2007) tells the story of how her family was changed by one year of deliberately eating food produced in the place where they live. Barbara wrote the central narrative; Steven’s sidebars dig deeper into various aspects of food-production science and industry; Camille’s brief essays offer a nineteen-year-old’s perspective on the local-food project, plus nutritional information, meal plans and recipes.

I will let you know my opinion once I have read it.

Leave a Reply

