The story of stuff

The Story of Stuff

Image by net_efekt via Flickr

I have been thinking recently about how I got to be where I am right now in my way of thinking.  I wasn’t always like this.

You know sometimes when you catch yourself thinking about something, then you ask yourself how the heck you got to be thinking about that very thing and you can actually track back and see your minds pathways and how your mind kept changing subjects to get to be thinking what you are thinking?  Am I making sense?

So I have been trying to track back and see what made me change my opinions  so much over the past few years.  It’s really frustrating me because I can not pin-point anything in particular that may have triggered the change. I thought if I could find that point, I may be able to use it to help teach people to be more gentle on our world. But I can’t find it.

A few years ago my eyes would go glassy if you mentioned global warming, climate change or peak oil. I would nod politely and think of other interesting things instead.  I strongly supported anything “instant” that would make my life easier, and if I could buy or use a disposable item I would choose that over a reusable one.  I had someone “in” to do all the lousy house work tasks and I revelled in the kindness of Mr McD for being close enough to me to give me a quick tummy fill when in need. Chemicals were my friends – anything to make cleaning easier, and nuke those lousy ants, even those yummy preservatives that made my bread last really long so that I didn’t have to go to the shops everyday.

I am not like that now.  In fact – I am the polar opposite.  In just 2-3 years?  How fickle!  Those who know me well will vouch that it is almost impossible for someone to make me change my mind.  So how the heck did it happen?

The only things that come to mind are the following:

  • A feeling of discontent with the plastic world I was living in.
  • Starting yoga and learning to meditate.
  • Watching life fly by and not feeling very alive except when I took time out to smell the roses.
  • A gradual interest in reading esoteric books.
  • Investigating reincarnation and my belief structure.
  • Loads and loads of reading about other people who were in the same spot I was in and what they did.

So to summarise – it seems that it was just a feeling of discontent…..

I don’t have that feeling anymore. I have a strong inner knowledge that I am on the right path. It’s a good place to be.

I am going to leave you with this video – if you are in any way discontent I urge you to take the time to watch it. You can watch it in small bits if you don’t have the time to watch it all at once.  It’s the story of stuff.

If your internet connection is slow you can also visit Annie Leonard’s website www.storyofstuff.com


 

3 thoughts on “The story of stuff

  1. I admire you. Whatever you are doing, it seems to make you happy and that’s what is most important in the long run right? 🙂 Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Maybe you are interested in reading Jared Diamond’s book “Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed”. It is somehow related to the topic in this post.
    I’m glad you are happy with your new way of living.

    Like

Leave a Reply

