Light, fresh and absolutely yummy – Green Pea Hummus

Two days ago I stumbled across this recipe while browsing the internet and thought I would give it a whirl.  It is probably the best recipe I have ever tried (I’m not exaggerating).  This fresh, light and luminous green paste is sublime!

Green Pea Hummus

The problem with peas is that the moment they’re picked from the pod, their natural sugars start combining and converting into starches. Peas eaten one day out of the pod taste significantly less sweet and more starchy than fresh-picked peas. Frozen peas, on the other hand, are rapidly chilled right after shucking, locking their sugars in place, so for this recipe you must use freshly picked peas or frozen peas.

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen peas (defrost frozen peas by pouring boiling water over them and leaving for a few minutes – drain.
  • 1 clove fresh garlic – crushed or finely chopped
  • a pinch of salt
  • a generous glug of olive oil

Blend all ingredients (I used a wand blender).  Spoon into a serving dish and garnish with a few peas and some freshly ground black pepper. Serve with warm pita bread. (I didn’t have pita bread so I made some roti – it would even be good served as a dip or even on toast or fresh bread.)

Variations:

  1. Add the juice of one lemon or
  2. Add some fresh mint and feta cheese or
  3. Add 1 green chilli (improvised, tried and tested by my lil sister)

This recipe takes literally 5 minutes to prepare.  I would love to hear your reactions when you try it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I found the original recipe and here – I adapted it to my needs. The image is also from this site.

12 thoughts on “Light, fresh and absolutely yummy – Green Pea Hummus

  1. I made this a while back when friends were visiting, but I was the only one who enjoyed it…… I think they were to used to commercial dips with all the artificial additives and couldn’t appreciate ‘real food’!

    Like

  2. Hav just bashed up a batch – totally yummy! Sadly M is also a great hummus eater so am very tempted to hide and eat it all alone with a spoon straight out the dish before he appears! I added some sweet chilli sauce together with lemon juice, think this will become a regular – thanks!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Is That a Pea in my Pod? « I Love FOOD Diet

Leave a Reply

