Cooking up a storm

This weekend I cooked up a storm.  I think my oven was on for about 8 hours!  It was a crazy time with all utensils in use.

All recipes were new experiments tested out on the Bean.  On Friday night I made a shrimp stir fry using glass noodles.  It was delicious.  Unfortunately I did not take note of quantities of everything I tossed in – the test was all about trying glass noodles for the first time. The ingredients were as follows:

We will definitely make similar dishes again.

I also mixed up some homemade lemonade using the seasons first lemons.

On Saturday and Sunday I worked on making some feta cheese – recipe and results to follow in a few days once we have sampled the result.

Then I had to restock our cookie jar as we are no longer buying any for our lunch boxes.  I baked a batch of buttermilk rusks and also made some coconut biscuits.  We should have enough for the next few weeks.  In between all this the Bean stirred up a delicious egg bacon and mushroom breakfast which we ate for lunch on Saturday.

I feel like I was washing dishes all weekend and my kitchen still looks like this!

Image by ~rumaiisa

5 thoughts on “Cooking up a storm

  1. Jackie jy sal die eerste wees wat ek my skoonma se resepte voor gaan gee! She lived in Tzaneen, en het al hierdie sappe van die vrugte gemaak – ook konfyt gekook van papajas ens! Gee my tyd en ek kry dit vir jou bymekaar – so lekker om te weet iemand kan dit weer gebruik!

    Like

  2. Can I be your pool boy? I will not need any money, I will just work for food and drinks…..and will require you to rid the premises of all snakes, rodents, and insects…… You can’t beat that! That is a sweet deal! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

