It’s not easy being green

Some friends of mine, Gavin and Vanessa, recently posted me a pile of dvd’s on some subjects we share a common interest in.  They are also interested in becoming self-sufficient and are on their way to setting up their lives on the Natal coast of South Africa. On the dvd’s I found many interesting shows on permaculture, forest gardens and lots of other facets of living a greener life.  I still have so much to learn so they have been great to watch.

One of the series I watched was called “It’s Not Easy Being Green” by the BBC.  I was lucky enough to get all three seasons  so for many days I have been following Dick Strawbridge and his family as they sell up their urban home and move into the English countryside to establish a green life.

Some green shows can be seriously boring but this one is really great and you have a good laugh while learning much about changing your lifestyle. Besides, if you get bored all you need to do is watch Dick’s HUGE, massively scary moustache. I couldn’t help but make the connection between his moustache and his surname 🙂

In the picture above you can see the family and the house they renovate in the background.  The Bean enjoyed the shows too because they often include his children and their perspective.

I can highly recommend the series for those of you who are interested in all things green.  You can download them here:

http://www.ovguide.com/tv/it_s_not_easy_being_green.htm

I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

Thanks Gavin and Vanessa!

 

12 thoughts on “It’s not easy being green

  1. Recently I wrote a blog entry offering a leftist critique of the ideology of “Green” environmentalism, permaculturalism, deep ecology, eco-feminism, and lifestyle politics in general (veganism, “dumpster diving,” “buying organic,” “locavorism,” etc.). I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the matter and any responses you might have to its criticisms.

    Like

    • Hi Ross
      I wonder how much of my blog you read? I would hope that you took time to read some of it as you have asked me to read reams and reams of yours.
      This is how I see it – I dont think you read mine because you do not agree with my way of life – I tried to read your post but got terribly bored – probably for the same reasons. I believe that everyone is entitled to their opinions and to choose the way they want to live. I think the way you have gone onto so many “green” blogs and told them to come and read your article is quite sad really. You are not the first or last to disagree with my way of life – I really dont care though – sorry. I’m happy and I truly hope you are too – thats whats important in the end.

      Like

Leave a Reply

