Lilies in my valley

This week I found both of these lilies flowering in the bush near Jackal’s Den.  Some welcome colour midst the browns and greens of the summer landscape.

Snake Lily   (edit: – It has been brought to my attention by Ian from Antares Field Guide Training Centre that this is not called a snake lily. We both agree that it is the Scadoxus multiflorus which my book calls the snake lily. Ian calls it a fireball lily. I have done some research and have found that it is called many names including blood lily, torch lily, powderpuff lily, fireball lily, bloedblom, poison root, gifwortel.  No where else have I found it called a snake lily so it seems that my book may be wrong. I am going to try and contact the lady that edited the flower section so see what she says. Thank you Ian)

Ground Lily

At first I thought that the ground lily’s leaves had been eaten by one of our animals but they appear just like this in my plant book too.

Thanks to Sue and Rose for my lovely book. It is so handy.

The Wildlife of Southern Africa – The larger illustrated guide to the animals and plants of the region.  Edited by Vincent Carruthers

7 thoughts on “Lilies in my valley

  1. I spent a decade living in low rainfall zone, so I understand what a difference it makes to find some colourful flowers like these. Beautifully presented too🙂 Book looks great !

    Like

    • Seems the name snake lily may be wrong – my book calls it a snake lily but while researching it I have not found it called a snake lily anywhere else. It is called a Fireball lily or a torch lily or a blood lily. I am finding out from some reliable sources – I do know its latin name is Scadoxus multiflorus

      Like

    • Seems the name snake lily may be wrong – my book calls it a snake lily but while researching it I have not found it called a snake lily anywhere else. It is called a Fireball lily or a torch lily or a blood lily. I am finding out from some reliable sources – I do know its latin name is Scadoxus multiflorus

      Like

Leave a Reply

